National COVID Cancer Antibody Survey

If you’re anything like me, the idea of catching Covid-19 whilst waiting for or undergoing treatment for cancer is terrifying. I was diagnosed in early 2020, so when I started chemotherapy there were no vaccines for the general public.

Thankfully, we now have multiple vaccines, and the scientists are learning more about how they work in relation to cancer patients all of the time.

If you’d like to help with the research into how the vaccines work for cancer patients, there is an antibody survey you might be eligible to participate in. It’s a simple blood test, which you do at home and then post back.

I did my blood test in late 2021, after my first two vaccine doses, and it was a huge relief to discover I had some antibodies then. They don’t tell you how many antibodies you have, nor whether they’re from infection or vaccination, but just knowing whether or not you have any can be useful.

For more information on eligibility, and to apply, visit the website below.

https://covidcancersurvey.uk

Update on 22nd March 2022: the survey recruitment is now complete. The results are being analysed and will be posted later.

Update on 5th April 2023: the analysis hasn’t been published yet, but the website with the latest info is: https://ukcovidcancerprogramme.org/national-covid-cancer-antibody-survey/

Leave a comment